Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Video studio 8 capture without splitting video?

  1. #1

    Default Video studio 8 capture without splitting video?

    I am not very good at putting this into words. My husband captured a DVD onto VS8 of a band performing live - they wanted him to edit into a dvd they could send out...you know how it splits up into many thumbnails and then you can move them to the timeline to edit? Well, he wanted one song they performed to run continuously but it was split into three scenes. When he put them together, there is a little glichy thing at the spot the scenes were split.

    Does that make sense and can someone please help me!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    There should be an option to turn off automatic scene detection. I'm sure Purejammy will be along soon to tell you exactly how to do it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Sorry about the delay (I have been abroad for a few days).

    A couple of points worth noting on this one,

    1. Just my opinion, but I always got a better feeling of control using the Multi-Trim Video option rather than the Split by Scene option. Using this you simply use the F2 and F4 keys to set the start and end point of each scen you require.

    2. If you are having glitches on yor scene jumps check that your hard disk is thoroughly defragmented before renderingyour final movie. And check that your output settings are correctly set to DVD compliant Mpeg.

    3. If you need any more detailed instructions please feel free to post back.


    Meantime good luck.


    COMPAQ something or other with 500Gb Boot Disk, 1Tb external Firewire Disk, 4Gb Memory and a super duper sound card, 19" TFT Monitor etc etc etc
    Sony TRV33e : Sony TRV310e : Canon XM2
    Sony Vegas Studio editions to v11

    Remember, there is always more to learn than there is to teach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Newberg Oregon
    Posts
    21

    Default

    If you like you can simply turn off the scene detection mode and then run the scenes on the timeline and break them where you like.

  5. Default

    You turn the split files on capture on and off in the Preferences menu.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I always capture in one big chunk - am I weird?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,435
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Mark, some of your videos suggest that you may, indeed, be weird but capturing in one large chunk doesn't necessarily make you so. I have a friend who does the same.

    I can see only one potential benefit in doing so. It does force you to watch (or at least scan through) everything you've recorded and thus you may just hit upon a jem in the middle of a section which may otherwise be immediately discarded.

    Perhaps it makes you feel more "at one" with the content, in the same way that most golfers given the option would sooner walk around a course than use a buggy.
    Tim

  8. #8

    Default

    hello, I've got the opposite problem - when I capture DV it comes in as one long clip. Where abouts on the preferences can you set it to split the video into scenes? I've a had a look and couldn't spot anything obvious...
    thanks

  9. Default

    It is the first check box on the CAPtURE flag in the preferences IN THE CAPTURE APPLICATION (ie VidCap). Also it does not work if you have not set the clock time in your camera.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TimStannard View Post
    Mark, some of your videos suggest that you may, indeed, be weird but capturing in one large chunk doesn't necessarily make you so. I have a friend who does the same.

    I can see only one potential benefit in doing so. It does force you to watch (or at least scan through) everything you've recorded and thus you may just hit upon a jem in the middle of a section which may otherwise be immediately discarded.

    Perhaps it makes you feel more "at one" with the content, in the same way that most golfers given the option would sooner walk around a course than use a buggy.
    I think you may be right Tim. I feel out of control when I have a zillion clips seemingly arragned at random on the t line.

    I also think it is good discipline to watch ALL you have shot when capturing - then watching it ALL again immediatly after capturing -then do it again - twice - after a nice cup of tea.

    I really think it is a good idea to get all your raw in your head befor you start - also the reason I cant get too excited by people going on about how great hdrive and card cameras are.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Re-stitching the video after splitting
    By Amorous in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 06:30 AM
  2. splitting video and audio
    By ecca in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-15-2006, 06:48 AM
  3. I need help with some video splitting situation..
    By Madoka in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-20-2006, 08:30 AM
  4. capture DVD into ulead video studio 7
    By amicuseven in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2005, 05:10 PM
  5. Ulead Video Studio 7, Skewed capture
    By Mastadex in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-13-2005, 11:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •