Thread: Fast Motion/Time Lapse Video

Default Fast Motion/Time Lapse Video

Hey all,

I'm a new member here, hoping to gather some advice and tips on an issue I have. I've been editing footage for over ten years but I recently filmed most of my entire drive from Chicago to Phoenix with a dashboard mounted Flip Ultra. However, now i have hours and hours of footage that i'd like to compile and make a short video of the entire drive. Problem is I cant seem to find any editing software or tips on how to speed it up to shorten the amount of time it takes to watch quite dramatically and still have it be fluid/not choppy.

So i put this out to the hobbyists and pros at this forum, hopefully someone has some suggestions.

Thanks!

Blog Entries

It would help to know what software you've used, the techniques you've tried, your hardware specs and your output format. T might also be useful to upload sample inputs and outputs.

hey there,

so far i've tried using a couple different editing programs like corel x4, live movie maker, and quicktime pro. All of them can only speed up the footage so fast without it loosing frames or looking choppy, etc.

What i'm hoping for may not be possible. I was really just hoping to speed up the footage a large amount without having it skip between frames.

My hardware setup isnt great for editing, laptop running a core 2 duo processor on windows vista, 3gb ram.

thanks

Are you saying the flip-camera was on continuously - surely not? If you have taken stills we need to know.
    Not sure about above, so don't know about the Choppy comment you made.