Thread: Hot PC, Cold Scrub

Hilo, Hawaii

Default Hot PC, Cold Scrub

I am in need of either some advice, or some consolation. I purpose-built my pc thinking I'd have no trouble scrubbing or doing any video editing tasks. Rendering is a snap, but editing is horrible. When I move the timeline needle, it takes about 6 seconds for the preview window to show the new frame. Scrubbing is out! I can't preview at all unless I render first. Yes, I've got cuda turned on, etc. But obviously I'm missing something. Ideas please - I'll try nearly anything! Is avchd this troublesome? Should I shoot at a lower resolution (I don't want to as I have to zoom in to eliminate the stabilized edges.) You can see some of my underwater work on YouTube, search for kevindcornwell (I know my output is infantile - have mercy, I'm just starting out...)

1920x1080 avchd source
    1080x720 working size (and output to DVD)
    RGB color curves and Unsharp mask applied to every clip

Windows 7Pro 64-bit
    Premiere Pro CS5
    Mercalli 2.1 for pre-stabilization (I'm a beta tester)

i7 extreme (X990) 12core 3.45Ghz
    24GB Ram
    2 x 2TB drives
    1 x 500GB system drive
    1 x 128GB SSD scratch drive
    GeForce GTX480 (drives two 25" LCD's)
    GeForce GTX430 (drives a Cintiq 12" tablet)

Hilo, Hawaii

Default I sorted it out

For reasons I can't explain, I had the idea in my head that it didn't matter where my assets were located. I have them all stored on my network. So when I imported them into PP CS5, everything bogged down to a near-halt. So, now I've replace my two 'green' 2TB drives with two 7200rpm enterprise sata's, set them up striped, AND my new workflow is that I place the needed assets on the striped pair first, before I import and get to work. Everything is now working the way it's supposed to. I can finally get some real editing done.

Blog Entries

Thanks for the update Kevin - glad you go it all sorted.

Hilo, Hawaii

Default Just to clarify