Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How do I shorten a raw vidoe clip without producing it? Help Please!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3

    Default How do I shorten a raw vidoe clip without producing it? Help Please!

    Hi, I was not sure what to title this question. I need some help.

    I shoot a ton of cooking videos using three cameras (sony) in my green screen studio.

    When I shoot a recipe or skill and technique, I turn on all the cameras and just do the recipe. This saves me lots of time turning cameras on and off and stopping between bits of the recipe, because I do the whole production myself with a remote and it is quicker and easier to do it this way.

    Unfortunately though, there ends up being a lot of footage that is not going to be used on some cameras because I might only be at the cooktop for a minute but the whole recipe might take 10 and therefore 9 minutes of footage isn't relevant.

    As such, the files end up being huge and my editors do not live locally to me, in fact some are in other countries.

    Up until now I have been shooting up to 15 videos at a time then sending the files via a hard drive by post. This is taking a long time and is no longer practical with the amount of video I am chruning out.

    I will be using FTP to transfer the files, but I have to reduce them, it's taking so long to upload.

    I could make the files smaller by splitting the footage and only keeping the bits that will be used for each video, but, I cannot do this in any editing program without then having to produce the relevant clip into another file format, which then affects the resolution when it's edited by the editors. They really need to be getting the raw m2ts files.

    Ideally what I want to be able to do is split the video clips and only save the bits that will be used and send those to the editor, rather then a long piece of vision where only 5 seconds might be used out of 5 minutes.

    Is there any way to do this and still maintain the original camera file which is mt2s on saving, i.e. not rendering to a produced file format?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    kind regards
    Victoria
    Last edited by victoriahansen; 10-26-2011 at 10:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Give videoredo a go.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you so much Marc, that worked perfectly. I had not thought of VideoReDo. I bought it ages ago to edit my Media Centre files. I just upgrdaed it to the TV Suite and it was fabulous. Thanks so much.

Similar Threads

  1. Commercial vidoe for a competition
    By Timskijwalker in forum User Videos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2011, 09:47 PM
  2. Shorten PNG string for animation?
    By berserker in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 06:02 AM
  3. shorten timelines lines
    By wldrogue0 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 03:24 PM
  4. timelines being shorten
    By wldrogue0 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 06:03 AM
  5. Audio / Vidoe not in sync
    By PortyAL in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 01:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •