Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Premier Pro Editing Newbie - Sequences

1. Default Premier Pro Editing Newbie - Sequences

Hi All,

I'm editing my first video with Premier Pro CS5.5 and I have a couple of questions that I'd like to ask and get a view on. I've been an audio engineer for years and so I'm VERY comfortable with sequencers in general, but new to video editing.

I've filmed everything on my Canon 5D MkII at 1080p/24 and I have created a new sequence using the "New Seqence from Clip" option. All good. My question is really a bit more basic than that. I've been looking around the web for a decent explanation of what a sequence is and so far haven't found anything. It's often the case with technical explanations that the basics of terminology are completely forgotten.

The video is a series of interviews with some cut aways. Nothing fancy. My take on a sequence is that it's a package of footage. I was planning on using a sequence per interview and then combining these together in a master sequence and nested sequences. Does this make sense or am I thinking about sequences completely incorrectly?

Also, if I have a master sequence and say I lengthen the first sequence a bit, how do I get that reflected in the master sequence?? I know the CONTENTS in the master sequence simply points to the source sequence but it doesn't jog the subsequent sequences down the time line automatically in order to accomodate the new material.

Any info or pointers/explanations or links to useful stuff would be great.

Thanks,

Blog Entries

I find sequences useful for exactly what you described, I.e to help in good housekeeping. Where I have a simple video, I tend to use one sequence only. However, if I'm being lazy, I sometimes drop one sequence onto another to apply the same effect to all clips.