Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What is typical standand time for burning DVD?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    5

    Default What is typical standand time for burning DVD?

    I edited and converted some old analogue videos to DVD. Total play time is 1 hour 35 minutes. The AVI file totaled approx 19 Gb on my PC and it took just less than 4 hour to get the DVD burned which included the codec conversion. Query: Is this excessive time normal or is my pc not up to it. Using a Fujitsu Siemens Amolo Athlon AMD 2500+ laptop with 40 Gb hard drive and 512 Mb memory.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I ALWAYS use a seperate encoder when making DVDs. In general (and with no filters etc) my PC will encode from AVI to DVD compliant MPEG2 in 2/3 real time (longer with de-interlacing, 2-pass etc). Then I've got a 4x DVD burner, so 1.5hrs should be done in a quarter of that time (in theory). So if all things went according to plan, I'd have a 1.5 DVD encoded and burned in around 2hrs.

    Your harddware sounds more than adequate - but encoding is the most CPU intensive thing you'll do with a PC and DVD Burners are still SLOOOOOOOOOOOW (and will be for a while until some bright spark works out a way to overcome the data transfer rate limitation!)

    Even if you had the best equipment, you'd still be twiddling your thumbs waiting for your movie

  3. Default

    Thanks to all, for those varied and interesting opinions. I always thought I was warding off the boredom factor by keeping the movie to under one hour, that is until my last customer said she had put a full day to one-side to watch her DVD. She actually thought she was going watch the whole day 12-30pm to 9pm in full, nothing at all taken out.
    The mind boggles. I need to improve my communication skills.
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    What speed does an Athlon AMD 2500+ processor run at? Is it 1.6ghz or 1.8ghz? One of my computers has an AMD 4000+ Dual Core and it only runs at 2.1ghz, which is just the bare minimum for capturing and rendering SD video. If you keep turning out 19GB video files that 40GB hard disk won't take long to fill up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nikosony View Post
    What speed does an Athlon AMD 2500+ processor run at? Is it 1.6ghz or 1.8ghz? One of my computers has an AMD 4000+ Dual Core and it only runs at 2.1ghz, which is just the bare minimum for capturing and rendering SD video. If you keep turning out 19GB video files that 40GB hard disk won't take long to fill up.
    Think this 2003 thread was dug up by mistake...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Whoops! Talk about loosing your marbles, it happens to all of us sooner or later... 2003, I never spotted the date. This time machine is taking a bit of getting used to.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    I ALWAYS use a seperate encoder when making DVDs. In general (and with no filters etc) my PC will encode from AVI to DVD compliant MPEG2 in 2/3 real time (longer with de-interlacing, 2-pass etc). Then I've got a 4x DVD burner, so 1.5hrs should be done in a quarter of that time (in theory). So if all things went according to plan, I'd have a 1.5 DVD encoded and burned in around 2hrs.

    Your harddware sounds more than adequate - but encoding is the most CPU intensive thing you'll do with a PC and DVD Burners are still SLOOOOOOOOOOOW (and will be for a while until some bright spark works out a way to overcome the data transfer rate limitation!)

    Even if you had the best equipment, you'd still be twiddling your thumbs waiting for your movie
    Hi Marc

    You mentioned you use a seperate encoder....any reason for this? And how would you export the project?

  8. #8

    Default

    2 files (175MB each) to be burned on 4 DVDs. 20 files on each DVD. I have Nero Vision 2007. When i select 20 files, the size should be 3.5GB. It means I can burn 20-25 files on 1 DVD. But Nero Vision shows the size as 6.3GB and says Problem may occur while burning DVD.
    Last edited by Mark W; 10-23-2008 at 01:52 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Tough time burning Multi track DVD
    By JakeRobinson in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-04-2006, 04:29 PM
  2. When was your last time... ?
    By Marc Peters in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 08:22 PM
  3. Too much time
    By miwhel in forum User Videos
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 05:04 AM
  4. ITS HDV TIME !!!
    By Dean B in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2005, 06:14 PM
  5. first time burning SVCD....help!
    By twizm in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 05:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •