Thread: I made a rig to record a 3D film, but it turns out my footage isn't aligned.

Question I made a rig to record a 3D film, but it turns out my footage isn't aligned.

The problem is that one camera captured footage a little higher than the other. Cropping it stretches the image, making the two aligned, but disproportionate. I tried simply putting the raw, side-by-side footage into Roxio Video Lab and it was able to make a Red/Cyan composite video. But, because of the vertical misalignment, the image does not appear 3D. Looking at the two side-by-side and crossing my eyes, I can make out the 3D image, so I know the rig works. Is there any way to fix this via video editing? Or have my hours of footage gone to waste? If there is indeed a solution, I have access to both After Effects, iMovie (though not as comprehensive), and Final Cut Pro (though keep in mind I have very little experience with this software).

I'm no expert and unsure whether this may work or not. In theory it works in my head though! You could enlarge both pieces of footage slightly, then reposition both clips acordingly on the canvas? It would mean losing a bit of quality but its a possible solution?

Quote Originally Posted by NFox View Post
    I'm no expert and unsure whether this may work or not. In theory it works in my head though! You could enlarge both pieces of footage slightly, then reposition both clips accordingly on the canvas? It would mean losing a bit of quality but its a possible solution?
    That sounds like it should work. I'll be sure to give it a try. Even if it doesn't work, it may lead to another solution.