Thread: advices to record and compress sport / fast motion videos

Default advices to record and compress sport / fast motion videos

Hi there
    I am a newbie to this forum and have not much experience in videos (recording, editing and compressing)
    My interesting in videoing is really to capture instants in two of the outdoor activities that I am involved in: dog agility and sheepherding - It is a natural additional activities to my partner's who is a keen photographer.

you will find below some example (note that they were my very first tries and I did not understand anything at the time of compression & video set up, but they at least gives an insight of the type of recording I am working with & therefore of the type of challenge that I am faced for setting up the recording & compressing parameters (after editing))

agility (you need to have a FB account) :
    Agnes Campan's videos | Facebook
    Agnes Campan's videos | Facebook
    herding (you need to use exporer - if you right click on the clip you can zoom to full screen)
    Flo/Flo Netherdale 2010 username Flo; Passworf sheep4me
    Ben/Ben Vimeo SD

My last struggle was aa 1h20 minutes video montage of the scottish agilty team and have been so disappointed by the quality of the video after compression that I am determined to understand what is going on....and I am struggling...there are no poin tin trying to improve my editing skills if I can not get a good outputs and I have been fighting my videos manual as well as Premier Pro cs5 online help, classroom in a book book etc for quite a few months now with very little improvement (without out saying that all these maunals are as useless as each other when it comes to explain the parameters..)

So I went back to all the basic: my video (canon legria HF S21) & did test on most of the parameters to figure out the best recording parameters.

I therefore have now realised that the auto mode is not best