Thread: an introduction by way of video

Default an introduction by way of video

Hi folks. here's my second foray into filming, editing i'd done before, but this is the first time i've had anything with better video than a mobile phone/basic compact camera
    i will point out that i've been an enthusiastic photographer for several years, so the jump to video on a DSLR (Nikon d5100, sigma lenses and one ancient but awesome nikkor fully manual pre-ai 55m 3.5 lens) wasn't that hard to make..

precursory notes:
    a: yes, i needed a tripod with a pan head. yes i now have one
    b:shaky-ass hand.. building a home steadycam rig as we speak
    c: overcompressed. due in part to my elderly macbook throwing a fit when i try and render much higher bitrate (who has 18hours to render a sub-5 minute video?)
    would relish some feedback.
    cheers
    Pete

Blog Entries

I thought that was really quite evocative - there was some real joy showing thorugh.
    I loved the concept for the opening titles and "The End" although you recognise the compression problems with the opening ones. You can expect me to plagiarise.
    Last days of summer - yes, but what it lacked was "where"? The epilogue clearly showed the derelict West Pier at Brighton (which I guess is enough of a landmark for many people), but was the rest of it shot in Brighton? If you were showing this at a local video club/cinema, then location might not be important, but if your films are going in t'internet, and location is important (as I believe it is here - the last days of summer will be very different in Toronto or Melbourne or Tokyo or Rio), I think it would be nice to give that location away in the film.
    Some nice shots, but now you've got a tripod and are building a steadycam rig, could you please invest in a spirit level? There were some rather dodgy horizons visible.
    Tim

[QUOTE=TimStannard;169528]I Last days of summer - yes, but what it lacked was "where"? QUOTE]