Thread: Double-Bookings

1. Default Double-Bookings

I am quite new to the videography game, but as each year goes by I am doubling my workload, which I am really pleased about - but what I am not pleased about is the high frequency of enquiries from people who "love [my] work and would love [me] to film their wedding" but low and behold, the date is already booked up!

I have one cameraman who attends all weddings with me - and he keeps telling me that he could handle these double-bookings by shooting the second wedding for me. I could also hire an additional cameraman for that day to accompany him, while I shoot the other wedding solo.

But I am terrified of trusting anyone else to film an entire wedding by themselves. If something goes wrong, it's my reputation.

How do other members here handle double-bookings? It's a lot of money to turn away...

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by griffinmill View Post
    ..If something goes wrong, it's my reputation..
    Exactly. And reputations are hard won and fought for. You're fortunate enough to be obviously sought after - and that status means one thing - you are now in a position to charge premium rates for your work. So - stick with what you have, do the very best job you can and preserve that rep . Consider a slightly higher price and stick to your guns. That's my advice. Don't feel too bad about losing work this way. Better that than a story in the Daily Mail telling the world your company screwed up in some horrendous way. You'd be trashed forever.

One slight addendum - if train your man to work your way (they perhaps do already but you clearly don't trust 100% yet) and ONLY when you're satisfied he / she is fully capable THEN allow them out on a second shoot. But that trust has to be COMPLETE. Further more - you have to be supremely sure you can handle the extra editing work as it comes in without a quality slippage too.