Thread: First project in the can - now two more I need help with

1. Default First project in the can - now two more I need help with

So I've just closed off my first paid freelance project. I learned a huge amount and I'm a much better videographer for the experience. Up front, I was straight with the client, letting them know that I was pretty new to it, that I wasn't a full-time professional and that I couldn't promise them an award-winning result. What I did promise was the best quality job I could do and a very reasonable hourly rate. They got about a dozen promotional videos of 60-90 sec for their website, I got a reasonable sum for the job and a massive amount of real-world experience.

I've got two more assignments lined up which I'd like some advice about.

The first job is to document a charity cycle event. It's half a dozen blokes riding from Grimsby to Liverpool on Raleigh Choppers dressed as Santas. They're stopping at various children's hospitals to promote their charity which provides bikes to kids with cancer.

My intention is to do a bit of Voxpop, mixed with cycling footage shot from a follow car. Then I'll speak to the nurses and doctors in the hospitals and get some footage of Christmas gifts being given out and whatnot. Not a difficult one really. My question is about sound. Up to now I have used a Rode lavalier on my XM2 which has worked great. The problem is, it's a bit 'intimate' - ideal for interviewing one subject alone. What I'll need for the next project is the ability to interview a handful of people talking amongst themselves. Don't fancy the on camera mic, so what's the solution? Boom with a shotgun? My worry there is that I have to whizz about between speakers.