Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Video Camera Overexposed

  1. #1

    Default Video Camera Overexposed

    I filmed some very important stuff on Sunday with two different video cameras. One's exposure was unfortuneatley set all of the way up.

    I really can't afford to lose all of this footage, is there anyway to correct the exposure in Adobe Premeire to make this footage viewable?

    Right now it's way too bright, almost white in some places. Anything that can be done?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    Most probably not. You'll be able to fiddle with the settings, but you won't get much detail back unfortunately.

    A lesson learnt, i'm afraid.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,513
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Post a small clip on here (<5MB) from both cameras.

  4. #4

    Default

    i will upload that tonight as soon as i get out of class. thanks a lot guys!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I'll have to agree with mrlipring I'm afraid. Your much less likely to pull usable material from an overexposed source than you would be from an under exposed source.

    The video effects you'll need to look at though are 'levels'. Pay with the sliders to try and get an even distribution of colour. That'll likely be your best bet. You might then also want to try combining this with contrast, brightness and small amounts of colour correction.

    But because of the rendering involved it might be easier to export a frame or two and then play with it in Photoshop to see if you can get it right. Once you have the correct settings to use then translate those settings to Premiere and then sit back and wait for the render.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 09:49 PM
  2. Camera help: Is SD the way to go for video?
    By GingerMohawk in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 03:03 PM
  3. What video camera is best for me???
    By DHbiker in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 12:46 PM
  4. Need help - overexposed image!! :-(
    By Graugart in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 01:02 PM
  5. What video camera is best for me???
    By DHbiker in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-1970, 08:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •