Thread: Where should I go to buy a Video Editing PC?

1. Default Where should I go to buy a Video Editing PC?

Hi there,
    I've been editing videos for several years. I use Sony Vegas Pro. My boyfriend is in a band and the majority of the filming and editing I have done is of his performances. I upload some videos to YouTube, but also put them on DVD for his band and parents to watch (and one day our children can watch them!). The YouTube videos I create are 5 mins max. The DVDs can range from 60-90mins. I'd like to start creating some compilation discs

Most recently I used to use an old Acer laptop for my editing, but rendering times were painfully slow.

I'd like to buy a new desktop PC for between 450-550. Where is the best place to buy one? I've been looking at a few sellers who build machines on ebay, but I don't really know what to look for.

Can I get a semi-decent desktop for this price? What should I be looking for, and from where? I have upgraded parts within desktops in the past, but I don't have the time, or the technical know-how to build something from scratch.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

These are a couple of systems I have looked at on ebay: d30600c9a#ht_2789wt_1270]Fast Sandybridge QUAD CORE 16GB RAM VIDEO EDITING PC | eBay[/URL]
    Last edited by Maenie; 09-26-2011 at 05:52 PM.

If I may suggest, Do not touch that machine with a foot long pole. Reading through the spec so many warning lights went off in my head. To give an example:

In the title they claim:

In the description:
    Intel Core i3 2100 Dual Core + Hyper Threading CPU 2 x 3.1ghz Std.
    Will run as four cores in system properties

They are telling you "Buy our Quad Core PC" when in reality it's a dual core system.
    It has no graphics card. Instead relying on system graphics and whilst I would trust an I5 processor for on-board graphics, The I3 really is at the low end for on board graphics.