Thread: Charging for export time?

1. Default Charging for export time?

Hey forum. I have a general question, which I guess amounts to asking for advice, but I am genuinely interested to know how people deal with this.

I am a freelance videographer and editor using Adobe Master Collection. As you know, videos take time to export. Especially if they are HD and heavy on graphic elements. My PC is a relatively quick one - 3.4ghz, dual core.

Recently I did 5 short videos for a client, each of them being quite heavy on graphics, and they needed me to send compressed files to their FTP for sign off. They would keep sending new changes, tweaks and amendments, however, what they are not aware of, is that even a small change (like changing a word, a letter or a one second cut) would then mean a good couple hours of exporting time - for example compressing down to H.264 or WMV for them to check the edit in their offices. And so working on 4-5 short videos meant that i could clock up days of simply exporting the simple, quick changes they were asking me to make.

Do you guys have similar issues? And how do you charge for this? Is your exporting time factored in and charged for in advance? I'd like to know because there are times i genuinely think of quiting this business because of the time I lose on exporting - the stress and frustration can just be too much - especially if I have other work I need to get on with and am delayed. I am also wondering if buying a new quad core would actually increase the exporting time significantly. As I find that the multicore processors seem to be lower clock speeds (2.6 etc as apposed to my current 3.4ghz) and thus may not help me much.

Quad Core is what you want for the kind of work you are aiming for...especially with heavy duty graphics that you generate in After Effects. Also, What speed HDD do you have? How much Ram? Are there bottle-necks in the export and render process that could be fixed inexpensively.