Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for a Newbie

Default Advice for a Newbie

Hi,

I'm brand new to video editing (since I wouldn't really consider Windows Movie Maker as video editing) but like to think that I'm tech-savvy enough. I'd like to learn how to make animated videos , though obviously to a much simpler extent. What basic software and skills are needed for someone new to this?

Thanks so much!

Mark

I am here for the same reason and instead of making another thread I am going to wait for someone to show us the light so to speak.

thank you,

George.

If you read the credits below the video:

Music by: J. Ralph
    Directed by: Harry R. Calbom & The Academy

Writers: Harry R. Calbom, Caroline Mauldin, Jeremy Weinstein, Julie McCarthy
    Lead Designer: Kaleb Coleman
    2D Design / Animation: Kaleb Coleman, Mike Holm, Nick Simmons, Corey Dawson Hall
    3D Animation: David Holm
    Storyboards: Kaleb Coleman, Corey Dawson Hall, Lindsay Daniels
    Producer: Harry R. Calbom

That is quite a few names to produce a 3 minute animated video of that standard.

The next thing I will tell you is that anything in this world can be achieved, You could design space rockets for NASA or you could learn how to be a gourmet chef.

What is true about the above 2 professions is the same with 3D animation and video production, You need to tick the following boxes.

- I click with this
    Is this something that you wake up in the morning and think "Hey, I'm going to be doing this today" If your happy doing something, go with that! And if you can turn it into a career even better!

- I am willing to invest the time/money to achieve this goal.