Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: how can i edit my hd video material

  1. #1

    Default how can i edit my hd video material

    Hi I have shoot some footage with my kodak playsport and tryed to Edit it with win moviemaker and pinnacle studio hd 14. My computer is a laptop with quadcore athlon proccesor and 6gb ram. I know there are heavier macchines bit it was fairly expensive and most cameras sold today are hd ones, so it would be weird to me if editing isn't possible on a macchine like mine. Still it laggs a lot while editing and when rendering a film of more then about a minute long it says it need more ram.

    Do I really need a more powerfull computer? If so, this hd revolution sucks for any amateur user.
    Please help me if you can.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    London, England


    No answer, has this issue gone-away?
    6G is enough RAM, but laptops may split working RAM for video - however, 6G "should be enough" - I'm on 4G (the limit for 32-bits just under) - but I have a dedicated graphics 500Mb - and still get some issues with Preview. After Render the issue remains, only when burnt to DVD and put in a "Player" does it all come good . . . . . . HD does need a powerful PC. Multi-cores, naturally.

    In 64-bits do you "halve" the RAM, so yr 6G is really 3G? (never used 64-bit, but I might).
    You shut-down all other programs, of course.
    Sorry, can't help further.
    Last edited by vidmanners; 10-31-2011 at 04:09 PM.

  3. #3


    I used to have the same set up as you, I film using a Kodak Playsport and edited in Pinnacle 14 HD. The problem is that the HD moniker is a white lie. It can render to HD but it cannot edit in HD. I had serious issues with the preview window and even went so far as to try converting my recordings to a lossless format. Eventually a Pinacle chatroom informed me that it couldn't handle the datastreams. Your computer is more powerful than mine so it might be that I ran into issues with the software earlier than you did, I never got so far as being able to start rendering.
    I abandoned Pinnacle for Sony Vegas and now edit seemlessly. Having used Pinnacle for a few short films, I can honestly say it feels a little cheap compared to Vegas - I fully recommend it.

  4. #4


    I would never consider Pinnacle to be a worthwhile piece of editing software...Move over to Sony Vegas or Premier elements and watch all your buggy workflows vanish

  5. #5


    Quote Originally Posted by Bpotter908 View Post
    I would never consider Pinnacle to be a worthwhile piece of editing software...Move over to Sony Vegas or Premier elements and watch all your buggy workflows vanish
    not necessarily true..... but i do agree with you on pinnacle should carry a warning on the packaging..... WARNING this product isn't very good. The final beta testing has been left to the end user.....

Similar Threads

  1. How to copyright your own material
    By enc in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 05:45 PM
  2. Question about copyrighted material & also video tools
    By cybershark5886 in forum Pre Production
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-09-2008, 07:45 PM
  3. Some issues with 23.98fps material..
    By Durithor in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-25-2007, 01:07 PM
  4. Storing raw material
    By david4298 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2005, 04:14 PM
  5. Material was captured on Mac, How to use on PC?
    By anais in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 10:36 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts