Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are college courses worth the investment?

Somewhere out there beneath the pale moonlight

Default Are college courses worth the investment?

Hi Everyone! I'm keen to broaden my knowledge and skills with both filming and editing and have considered taking a short course/evening class. Although I don't expect to be fully qualified as all filming and editing i do is 'out of office hours' I feel I would benefit from a steer, possibly cutting down the time by self-teaching.

Has anyone else done the same / found taking courses useful? Again, it's only to give me focus and to learn a bit more about filming technique etc.

thanks for any comments

Blog Entries

All learning is useful, providing the teacher is up to the task.

The best way to learn is from someone else, so being self-taught means you learnt from someone who didn't know any more than you!

With subjects based on a practical skill (like anything to do with media) have a look at the teacher's experience. There is a lot of truth in the saying "Those who can, do. Those who can't, teach." Look at the teacher's CV. Have they worked for someone else in the capacity they're teaching? Be wary of someone who only worked as a freelance or self-employed and avoid those who have an academic background. There are some courses being taught by people who have never worked on a professional production in their lives. Blind leading the blind.

Ask to see examples of the teacher's work. What have they had broadcast? Do they have examples online? Don't be seduced by a posh website, look at the actual examples.

So, yes. A bit of theory is always good but only if the ability of the teacher is greater than that of the pupil.

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by Rembrandt Rob View Post
    being self-taught means you learnt from someone who didn't know any more than you!

nice one