Thread: editing d7000 .mov files on final cut express?

Default editing d7000 .mov files on final cut express?

Hi everyone

New to the forum and in need of some relatively urgent help.

I'm currently shooting video on a nikon d7000 (specifically 1080p at 24fps) and then editing on final cut express. From previous research around the net, it seems like I should be incurring all manner of problems/crashing while uploading and editing the files. I've also read that I must transcode via a program such as mpegstreamclip in order to avoid crashing etc. and to get the best from my footage.

However I've had no problems thus far except for some really slow render times. So, would transcoding the files reduce render times or significantly benefit the quality of my video? If so, would you recommend mpegstreamclip?

Any help would be much appreciated - especially any explanations regarding the art of successfully getting footage into and out of the computer - as I'm new to shooting video on dslr's and editing generally.

Quote Originally Posted by talk_show_host View Post
    However I've had no problems thus far except for some really slow render times. So, would transcoding the files reduce render times or significantly benefit the quality of my video?
    The general rule of thumb is the more often you render your image the more degraded it will get, so following that logic if you "transcode" the footage it will follow the same rule of thumb. I don't see how transcoding would significantly reduce rendering times and definetly won't inprove the image. Getting a great big powerful computer will help to reduce rendering times.

If you are not having any trouble with your work flow then I would recommend not changing anything. "If it aint broke don't fix it" springs to mind.