Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Art V Technique

Default Art V Technique

I'd just like to throw a question out to collect some opinions from people.

Can an artistic film be a success despite a lack of technique?

I'm a song writing musician, I have entered the world of film because I want to create videos to compliment my music. Primarily because a good video can help a song be appreciated. My definition of a music video could be 'something to distract the listener whilst they hear your music'. I can tell you that trying to get people to listen to original music in isolation is becoming an increasingly impossible task these days.

Secondly, film is another oulet for the creative process, so I welcome it with open arms and I enjoy it. To me, it's simply an extension of the music and a great chance to turn words, music and feeling into pictures to complete the message of a song.

However I have no chance of ever holding a candle to some of the pro skills I read about on this forum. I can't afford to let that worry me, or else I would never do anything, but neither do I have any intention of becoming that involved.

Maybe the joy of a music video is that a lot of the 'rules' can be thrown out of the window. The music part of it seems to allow a certain anarchy when it comes to the film process.

I see a lot of parallels between music and film. I know incredible musicians that can entertain you all night, but never perform or record an original song of their own. I see film makers that can do amazing things, yet they have no storylines or the imagination to create projects of their own.

I'm competent in neither of the above, but I can create my own music, and I am writing storylines for films to compliment them.