Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multi-camera set up procedure + Q's

1. Default Multi-camera set up procedure + Q's

Hi to you all - thanks for all the help I've had from the forum so far, greatly appreciated.

I have built up a selection of gear both given, sourced or bought - lights and cameras. Now I'm in a position to get going recording the various projects I have on the go. I'm in the lucky position that all of the video I will be shooting will be of the same thing, just with different people. I was wondering if you guys could give me any advice you might have in terms of setting up and filming, lighting, issues I may have etc. Let me explain what I will be shooting first:

I'm a professional drummer who will be filming either myself or others in a tutorial setting. obviously these will always be inside - either in my small studio, on stages or in larger recording studios. I have decided on the shots I would like and the cameras I have at my disposal for which shot (with some examples of roughly the shot...):

1. A low MCU of the feet - JVC DV500 (it's an insert shot so the 4:3 will be good for this)
    Drummer's feet | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
    2. Overhead shot of whole kit - GO PRO HERO running at 1080p like this:
    Google Images
    3. Medium shot side on - Canon HF100HD running at 1080p (fitted with Kenko wide lens) Google Images
    4. Front on Shot MCU - Canon 550D running at 1080p (fitted with 50mm) - I want to get a fairly tight DOF on this as this will be mainly for talking to camera and then for me to move around whilst recording to get some movement on my fluid head tripod.
    Google Images

In terms of lighting, I don't have too much, two medium sized soft boxes and 3 lights with umbrella reflectors.

As well as any general advice on this, there are a couple of specifics that I would like to ask:

1. How would you light this, considering what I have?