Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lost quality

  1. #1

    Default Lost quality

    Hi guys,

    I've just installed Sony Vegas 7, did some editing and after that made rendering as .avi (uncompressed).
    But result not really that I was expected.. I lost quality of my video.. Now I can see some horizontal lines when object is moving.. I have no idea what is going on.. What am I doing wrong?

    Original video has mp4 format..

    Please advice,

    Thank's so much

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Interlacing!
    Sounds like you've zoomed in (pan and crop) on interlaced footage. Or mixed your fields. You need to de-interlace anything you are going to zoom in on if the source is interlaced.
    What is your source? And exactly what parameters are you using to export.
    Tim

  3. #3

    Default

    Ohh thank's for getting me back
    No, I did not zoom anything, (or zoom somehow and do not know this)
    I've just went outside... record some video.. and use Sony Vegas for editing..
    settings was 1280x720 60fps HR.. and I editing thise video..

    For editing I was using only colors.. that's it

    render: .AVI
    Audio: 44,100 Hz, 16 Bit, Stereo
    Video: 29.970 fps, 720x480x32
    Last edited by OliverBelman; 09-01-2011 at 11:35 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    Make sure when you render that the field order is lower field first or deinterlace the video and select progressive. You have gone from HD footage to SD .avi file which is a change in field order. HD footage is Upper field first.

    Hope this helps.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post
    Make sure when you render that the field order is lower field first or deinterlace the video and select progressive. You have gone from HD footage to SD .avi file which is a change in field order. HD footage is Upper field first.

    Hope this helps.
    May I ask you explain me how I could do this with Sony Vegas? I am totally new in this.. please

  6. #6

    Default

    When you click on "Render As", the render box appears. in this box you choose the format you want and select a template. You will see a "CUSTOM" button. click on it and you get further options. Look for the field order option and if you are rendering to SD select lower filed first or None Progressive.

    This is Standard definition:
    render: .AVI
    Audio: 44,100 Hz, 16 Bit, Stereo
    Video: 29.970 fps, 720x480x32

  7. #7

    Default

    Ohh, thank's so much, I will try and post my results..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    You should also ensure your Project Settings match your source.
    Go to File | Properties.
    On the video tab click the "Match Media Settings" Icon (far right of the "Template" entry and navigate to any of your source files. That way you'll keep the same settings throughout.
    Tim

  9. #9

    Default

    Ohh thank's guys a lot for your participation,

    So what I did:
    My rendering settings had been as "lower filed first" and this is not really helped after that I changed to None Progressive and this setting do work.. no horizontal line any more..
    So my custom settings were:
    Frame size: NTSC DV (720x480)
    Frame rate: 29.970
    Field Order: None (Progressive scan)
    Pixel aspect ratio: 0.9091 (not sure what is this)
    Uncompressed
    Ohh also I selected video quality - Best..


    After that I did like TimStannard says
    I've matched file quality - and it settings were totally different from original one.. result - I do like, no lines.. but this settings do need a little bit different color configuration..

    If you have more advice please tell me,

    Thank's guys one more time,

Similar Threads

  1. canon hfs 10 to pc quality lost help
    By dasnico in forum AVCHD and HDV editing
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 10:14 AM
  2. Adobe Premiere How to export High quality or full quality?
    By powel212 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 01:38 AM
  3. Quality of still and close up shots lost when burned to DVD
    By Karen in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-20-2009, 02:28 PM
  4. I've lost quality when upgraded Monitor...anyway to get that quality back?
    By Note in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 04:14 AM
  5. Seems I've Lost
    By shiner in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-22-2006, 05:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •