Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: (DVD DRIVES / HDD) Configuration Help Please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    115

    Default (DVD DRIVES / HDD) Configuration Help Please

    I currently have -

    1 ide cable with 2 hdd on (1 master 1 slave)
    2nd ide cable with 2 dvd writers on.

    I want 1hdd and one writer on each.

    Do I just unplug and swap, and it will be fine? or am I wishing?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    as long as the master/slave jumpers are set correctly, go for it.

    There might be bios-fiddling, but it's simple.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Why do you want to share an IDE channel between an optical and hard drive? Can't understand your logic to be honest!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    115

    Default

    to install matrox RT.X100 Video Card you have to set to....

    CONTROLLER 1
    C: SYSTEM DRIVE
    E: EXPORT DRIVE

    CONTROLLER 2
    D:A/V DRIVE
    F:CD/DVD-ROM DRIVE

    This gives Optimal perormance.

    A/V drives must be formatted using NTFS, because it it over comes FAT32 file size problems/limitations.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    That config is:

    Code:
    3xHDD plus 1XOptical
    I read your original post as

    Code:
    2xHDD plus 2xOptical
    which would end up as

    Code:
    edit - can't get the sodding graphic to work!
    I think the original config would be optimal, wouldn't it (unless I'm mistaken and you're getting another drive!)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    115

    Default

    yes ordered another drive today.

    I think the original config would be optimal, wouldn't it (unless I'm mistaken and you're getting another drive!)
    Maybe, I'll take your word for it, I'm no proffesional when it comes to configuring a PC, and installing Hardware. I can Build one, yes, But sata, etc is where im lost.

    I heard the config I said would be better, so then u can copy dvd to dvd on the fly without any slow down. Also then my export drive will be on a different ide for now to my system drive, thought it would be better.
    As i said any help greatful, im only a pro when it comes to design not all this tech stuff!
    2 x 21\" HITACHI super contrast monitors.....2 x 200 gig HDD\'s....2 x 512mb dane-elec pc3200.....TV in card (cheap and sh!t!)....3.2 P4 HT....BOARD - ASUS P4C800 - C delux (fsb 800mhz DUAL DDR 400)....GRAPHICS - ATI 256ddr POWERCOLOUR Radeon 9600XT (500mhz/400mhz)....MATROX RT.X100 real time editing card

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    if you're going to be copying between drives, then it's best to have those drives on different ide channels.

    Having said that, i'm not sure just how important that is these days.

    some people say it is. some say it isn't. I haven't seen any benchmarks to back up either view...
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default Re: (DVD DRIVES / HDD) Configuration Help Please

    Quote Originally Posted by OnTheWay
    I currently have -

    1 ide cable with 2 hdd on (1 master 1 slave)
    2nd ide cable with 2 dvd writers on.

    I want 1hdd and one writer on each.

    Do I just unplug and swap, and it will be fine? or am I wishing?

    cheers
    I have 2 Western Digital Caviar JB's on IDE1 (boot drive - master, capture drive - slave) and a DVDRW and CDRW on IDE2 (DVDRW - master, CDRW - slave). Don't connect one HD and one RW on each IDE, the performance is terrible.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Welcome to the forums svhs!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters
    Welcome to the forums svhs!
    Thanks! I've been reading the topics here for a while, now that I'm a member, I'm trying to work my way in here, solve some of my problems, and hopefully become useful myself.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Advice on this new configuration
    By melvinjonas in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2007, 08:25 PM
  2. Hard Drive Configuration
    By wizdawg in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2006, 06:32 PM
  3. Haed Drive Configuration
    By SirClarence in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-09-2004, 01:05 PM
  4. Canopus Configuration
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-28-2004, 11:24 AM
  5. Please check out this configuration..?
    By keltoid in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-06-2003, 01:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •