Thread: Question about the DVD tutorial that comes with Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11

1. Default Question about the DVD tutorial that comes with Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11

I'm a new student who just started trying to learn the craft of Web video editing by practicing with Sony's free trial download. Sony sells 4 different Vegas software packages. The Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum Production Suite 11 is the only one that comes packaged with a DVD tutorial (the DVD tutorial is not included with Sony Pro).

1) Does anyone know the run time of the DVD?

2) Does the DVD tutorial teach new students more techniques than the Show Me How interactive tutorial that comes with all 4 versions of Vegas? Or in other words, does it go beyond basics by teaching the student how to edit videos a little like a pro?

It's hard for a student to learn a software program that has approximately 1200 features and is known for having a distinct lack of training material that is both detailed and comprehensive. The people who publish the Missing Manual series of books should publish one for Sony Vegas. I'm sure I speak for other students when I say thanks in advance.
    Last edited by UVRay; 08-26-2011 at 06:09 PM.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by UVRay View Post
    is known for having a distinct lack of training material that is both detailed and comprehensive.
    For detailed and comprehensive, you won't do better than "Vegas n Editing Workshop" by Douglas Spotted Eagle. It's too daunting for a beginner, but for someone conversant with the basics, it's a real eye opener and for someone who's very familiar it's still a source of inspiation. The biggest problem is that it's very much geared towards Vegas Pro and can therefore lead users of Movie Studio down paths they don't need to travel.