Thread: Does the editing process degrade quality ?

Question Does the editing process degrade quality ?

I am very new to video cameras in general and especially HD.
    I have been trying to read as much as possible and it seems the more you manipulate a video file such as rendering, adding effects, etc., the more the quality is degraded. If this is true how does one know how much is too much?
    I seem to remember the more times you open and save a .jpeg photo the more degraded it becomes. Is it the same concept with video?
    What steps in the editing process cause problems?

eg: I shot a video of a very fast motorboat...after I increased (just slightly) saturation and modified the hue, I saw some major banding/posterization, especially in the sky ! This was when previewing the video in the preview window, I haven't finished editing it, so don't how the final result will look like...obviously, banding will ruin it entirely !

You've asked the most pertinent question in trying to get our heads around understanding this process and workflow, good for you!