Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Preview problem? Please help!

  1. Exclamation Preview problem? Please help!

    Hey guys, I'm new here.

    Anyway, I just downloaded Vegas Pro 10. However, in the preview box, it only shows the top left corner of my video. How can I fix this?

    Thanks,
    Wombiscuit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    My guess is you're showing it in full resolution (ie one pixel on the video = one pixel on the screen)

    Right click on the image in the preview window.
    Select "Scale video to fit preview window"
    Tim

  3. Default

    All that does is make it bigger.

    Sorry for the inconvenience.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    OK, so maybe you have cropped the video event or you've used track motion to zoom in.
    Open a brand new project and drop a video onto the timeline. How is that?

    If this still has the problem, could you post a screengrab - or screen grabs.
    Tim

  5. Default

    It actually does it on every project.
    I'm assuming that a screengrab is a screenshot?

  6. Default

    vegas pro 10.jpgvegas pro 10 preview box.jpg

    That's what it looks like.

    I just now noticed something, it only does it with my gameplay. You see, I record video game footage and put it on Youtube, and the preview feature only does this for my video game footage, nothing else. Suggestions?
    Last edited by Wombiscuit; 07-27-2011 at 04:26 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the screenshots (for future reference, bigger would have been better, so we can actually read what is on the screen). What is clear is that the problem extends way beyond your original deescription fo the problem - it does not exist with the just preview box, but the thumbnails on the timeline and the project media window also show just the same part of the image. So Vegas appears to be treating the footage consitently.

    You've now identified that this only happens with gameplat footage. Clearly Vegas is struggling with whatever codec/file type your capture program uses. What are you using to cature the gameplay footage?

    What are the media properties of the gameplay footage? And what are your project settings? Have you matched the latter to the former?
    Tim

  8. Default

    Hm. I hope that isn't hard to fix lol.

    I use a Happauge HD PVR to capture my gameplay. as for the other questions, I'm not exactly sure, as I'm still trying to learn it all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,846
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Download and install a free program called GSpot (Careful how you Google this!)
    Drop your clip(s) into it and it will report all sorts of useful information about codec, framerates, image size, aspect ratios etc.

    To match your project to your source fils, in Vegas, go to project properties (under File | Properties) go to the video tab.
    Near the top, to the far right of the "template" Combo Box, there is a button which, when you hover over it, says "Match Media Settings". Click on that, then navigate to one of your source files.
    Tim

  10. Default

    I know this is probably a stupid question to ask but... what are my source files?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Studio 11 and preview problem!!
    By DjBac in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 04:39 AM
  2. preview problem
    By vegasshiz in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2005, 02:24 AM
  3. Live preview problem
    By HillBilly in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2005, 10:41 PM
  4. Elements Preview monitor problem
    By jbtco in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-27-2004, 10:20 AM
  5. Preview problem
    By Dima in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-17-2004, 10:31 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •