Thread: Video Editing Software

Default Video Editing Software

Hi,

I am new to video editing. I have just managed to capture video into Windows Movie Maker. This s/w seems to have most of the features I need, like adding text, sounds and easy editing. However, I cannot find any way to burn my 'videos' to say a DVD? Does anybody know if this is possible? or if not, what alternative s/w I could use?

Many thanks

Darren

Windows Movie Maker will not burn to DVD. You will export the movie from Windows Movie Maker as a DV AVI file. You will bring this AVI file into another piece of software that will burn to DVD. I use Adobe Encore, but that might be too expensive to start out with. Iím sure others will give you examples of software you can use.

James

i use ulead dvd workshop, it's insanely easy to use and extremly quick to pick up i think they offer a free trial i'm not sure though.
    i eat hobbits!!!!!!

I'm heavily into free video editing tools (at least until folks understand what they ant for a tool and what's going to give them the best bang for their buck).

As far as free DVD burners are concerned try DVD-Flick. It supports over 60 video codecs and 40 audio codecs. On top of that it allows you to add a seprate audio track to your DVD (For the directors commentary!)

Windows Movie maker is a fine tool to start with (although it is noted as being a little unstable), but you might want to consider some of the other tools that are available for free.

Wax
    A free tool with powerful editing and compositing abilities.

Video Spin
    Video Spin is the free video editing tool from Avid.

T@B ZS4
    T2B ZS4 is a free video editing and compositing tool from Zwei-Stein. Its not for everyone, but it could be for you.

Vivia
    Vivia is a basic editing software which is currently being developed and is in Beta testing. If you are using Linux or Windows you might want to check this out

Jahshaka