Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: What speeds up STUDIO HD 15, and Photoshop, CPU, SDRAM, or GPU?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default What speeds up STUDIO HD 15, and Photoshop, CPU, SDRAM, or GPU?

    Would getting a newer 1GB,700+ Core Clock Speed GPU be better than my existing 8600GT 512MB, 540MHz make Video editing easier and less taxing on Studio?

    Pinnacle Studio 14HD Ultimate. (Always have to free up resources when Importing analog video) need to upgrade from XP to Win7 64Bit. I'm finding studio files all over my drives and hard to locate files for re-burn to DVD. I have three drives, My boot drive is a 74GB WD Raptor for O.S., WD500GB Storage drive, and a 2TB WD Caviar green for Storage.
    Even though the 74GB Raptor would be faster for apps and the O.S, would having the 500GB used for the O.S., and applications be better to use with studio14 or does it matter? Here, on Pinnacle Forum, someone said all the studio files should be on one drive. I just want to capture, edit and burn to DVD, OR save as video files on the External HDD for future burns.
    What I presently have >
    GPU –
    Nvidia Geforce 8600GT 512 MB, Core clock speed 540MHz, GDDR2, 128 bit, Memory Speed 700 GHz.
    CPU > INTEL Core2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz (4 cpu’s)
    MOTHERBOARD> MSI P-35 (MS-7345) Platinum
    OPERATING SYSTEM> Windows XP 32 Bit, soon to upgrade to Windows7 Pro 64, with a total 8GB DDR2 SDRAM (8GB DDR2 PC6400/800MHz)
    MEMORY> At present, 4GB DDR2 / PC6400/800MHz.

    I exhaustively use Photoshop CS3, and Pinnacle Studio 15 HD Ultimate. I would like to get the MOST of what I have and wanted to know a few things.

    I talked to an IT guy at Staples who told me he does CAD, 3-D rendering, Photoshop, and told me it is the GPU with a fast CORE CLOCK SPEED that makes Photoshop and Video Editing work much faster.
    Then I went to FRYS and a few (gamer) guys told me it’s the combination of both the CPU and the SDRAM System memory that makes it work faster.
    I almost bought one of the (below listed) ASUS GPU’s, when yet another guy told me I would be fine with what I have. Please tell me whose right.

    When I start up Photoshop, it takes maybe three to four minutes to finish loading Preferences, which is ridiculous, I think. What would speed that up, memory or CPU, or GPU? And would that also benefit my Studio video editing?

    I will most definitely be upgrading my motherboard in a few years…More ram, faster CPU, a new MOBO, etc., so I don’t want to waste any money now.

    ASUS ENGTS450/DI/1GD5 GeForce GTS 450 (Fermi) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
    Chipset Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Core Clock: 810MHz
    Stream Processors: 192 Processor Cores
    Effective Memory Clock: 3608MHz
    Model #: ENGTS450/DI/1GD5
    Item #: N82E16814121423
    _______________________________________

    ASUS ENGTX460 DirectCU TOP/2DI/768MD5 GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 768MB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
    Chipset Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Core Clock: 700MHz
    Shader Clock: 1400MHz
    Stream Processors: 336 Processor Cores
    Model #: ENGTX460 DirectCU T7
    Item #: N82E16814121390
    ________________________________
    ASUS EAH6870 DC/2DI2S/1GD5 Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Asheville, NC USA
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Photoshop should not take 4 minutes to load with your current hardware. Sounds like you have some software bugs. Restart your system, then go to task manager and look at your memory usage under the performance tab. That number should be 1.5GB or less. If it's more, then you must have a lot of background apps running (remember to check this on a fresh reboot) which will slow things down.

    Upgrading to 64bit will help some as well.

    Also to comment on what hardware will speed what up...

    Your videocard's GPU (graphics processing unit) will accerlate OpenGL or DirectX applications when 3d polys, 3d lights and draw calls are used (games and 3d apps). This can also include, some GPU powered features in Photoshop and any GPU filters in Pinnacle Studio **if applicable**.

    The load time of your apps are mainly limited to the speed of your hard drive. I'm assuming you have 7200rpm HDDs, but Windows can get bogged down over time and it may be time for a reformat.

    Your memory speed is only 800Mhz, but this is about average. More memory will only allow you to load more images at once in photoshop and will pervent it from being bogged down depending on the amount of memory you have. But more memory is not going to "speed" up photoshop.

    When you start adding filters and start tweaking images in PS, your processor will handle this. It's nice that you have a Quad Core, but without a 64bit OS, you're only using 2 cores (4 multi cores if you have hyper threading enabled). Switching to 64bit OS will give you full access to your 4 cores (8 multicores if you have hyper threading enabled).

    You editor is more limited by your hard drive speed and how fast your footage can be loaded as well as your processor during video playback/previewing. If you're editing HD footage, your 4GB of memory can get full pretty quickly.

    Also, once you're in the midst of a editing project or in photoshop, and things are running slow, check task manager again and see if your 4GB are used. Also check on your CPU usage... some background apps will use a lot of processor power.

    Be carefull about having anti-virus software on your editing machine... this can kill performance to a unrealistic level.

    My recommendations:

    1) Upgrade to 64bit OS
    2) Check your bios settings and be sure hyper threading is enabled
    3) Upgrade to at least 8GB of memory.
    4) New videocard (get a GTS or GTX model)

    Let me know if you have other questions.

    -Mike
    Last edited by MikeGJr; 07-14-2011 at 02:08 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Vegas Render Speeds
    By marrs in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 07:44 AM
  2. One Clip, Different Speeds
    By DJDaveX in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-08-2008, 09:27 AM
  3. Velocity envelope speeds
    By Skodster in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2006, 06:27 PM
  4. Recording at High Speeds
    By BOU in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-19-2006, 11:58 AM
  5. changing speeds error--please help
    By LendlD in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-04-2004, 12:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •