Thread: Do we have to render.

Wink Do we have to render.

HI all i am a newbie, i have an imac with this spec,
    Processor 2.8 Ghz intel i5,
    Memory 12Gb 1333 MhzDDR3
    4 core,
    My editing software is Adobe premiere elements 9,

Now when i come to render it seems to take ages, if i have an half hour finished film which i have edited do i have to render, if so with my particular computer why does it take so long, allso is there any where on here which refers to my particular software to give me a hand thanks every one,

Regards Pete.

Welcome to the non-linear editing world!

Let me give you the definition of the word "render" and what it means in the video world.

Render means to process or generate/re-create a new video frame/clip after it's been modified from the original video frame/clip. Example: If you want to remove color from a video clip, you will need to remove the saturation (color) using a video filter. This video clip, will then need to generated or "rendered" to create the newly modified black and white (monochrome) video clip. This will re-create a new video file, using the raw footage combined with the video filter to create the modified/enhanced video.

Yes, we all have to render our video within our editors. But there's different times for rendering.

1). When you first pull in your footage into Premiere, you should be able to edit in a native format. This means that your project is set to the same specs as your footage, and Premiere does not have to render it to preview/play it.