Thread: Local Heroes #1. My first "Feature" video. Enjoy

Default Local Heroes #1. My first "Feature" video. Enjoy

Hi all
    much enjoying this forum and the help you all have provided me as a newbie. Ive now had my JCV GY HM100 for a few months and have just finished my first "feature" movie. Its the first of what is to become a series of Interviews with the characters of my local village of Sarratt in herts, uk. I plan to do at least three more in the series. Its my first attempt at producing something watchable so go easy on me and enjoy the peace and beauty of the Chess River Valley.
    YouTube - ‪Local Heroes 1:Terry Tyler‬‏

The wobbly footage right at the beginning didn't really work for me, I like the idea but they are a bit too wobbly. I like the build up of the piece setting the scene etc. BUT when Terry does eventually speak his voice is very low in the mix this is made worse when you get the wind noise like at 3:12. I think the camera work is quite generally only ok, there are a few moments for example at 2:14 when Terry is bent over chopping, then straightens up, it would have been better for the camera to have either help position then cut to a different shot or zoom out to reveal the full shot. You seemed to not know how to deal with this predicament, you kind of hold for a moment then pan up but cut to the stream very quickly, which looks messy. Was the shot at 3:49 meant to be at this angle ?

The pace and music help to give it a laid back gentle feel which is right for the piece.

I like these types videos, I think it's important to get documentary evidence before we loose these little pockets of interest to the overlords and Monsanto brings out Genetically Modified Crest.