Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Music composer looking to start learning video

Default Music composer looking to start learning video

Hey,
    I'm a composer of various styles of music, but I'm just starting to get in to video. I've learned that there are plenty of places locally that I can hire good cameras, so I've decided to start coming here (and elsewhere) to see if I can pick up tips on their usage.

At the moment I hire guys to do the camera work, but I'm interested to see if I can get into this myself. I've already started learning how to edit video - it seems very similar to audio editing, which of course I'm already very familiar with. The reason I'm interested in editing is because it seems to me that no one else editing videos of my music will be able to get the syncing and the various nuances quite as accurately as the composer... should that person be able to do it themselves.

Here's my first attempt. Very eager to hear critiques on any aspect of the process. I'll be back to ask all sorts of questions.
    Thanks!-

Tom

I liked the closeups of the instruments being played. I am hoping another poster will offer some advice on how best to prevent the sepia colour.

The sepia is probably a result of the lighting... the room is pretty much that colour (70s style brown ). I didn't make any adjustments to the colour in editing. I am concerned about fiddling with the colour in Corel Video Studio, which doesn't seem to do a very good job of those particular adjustments. But of course advice is welcome!

Thoroughly enjoyed the music piece, the way in which it was played and the audio recording itself, Sync was impressive too... Full marks to the talent and quality of music