Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Brand new here with some editing questions.

I have been racking my head for a few months on how to render the best quality using Vegas Pro 10.

I am using a sony HDR-XR150 as my recording device. I have also used sony's PMB but it just does not seem to do a very good job. I did some searching here and found this thread.

When i click on information when viewing a transferred file (not rendered yet) with splash media it tells me :

stream type...MT2S
    VIDEO TYPE... H.264/AVC 1920X1080
    FRAME RATE...29.970
    BIT RATE..Looks like a variable (20 to 23 Mbps)

As far as setting this up in vegas, i am not sure what setting to use in the initial setup, I'm guessing HD-1080-60I (1920X1080,29.970 FPS)
    In the render as section, i am totally lost as to which settings to use in the save as type,template and custom settings.

What i am trying to accomplish is the same quailty i see when i play the files through splash media pro, they look incredible but whenever i render them it usually has a lot of stutter and tearing.
    This is for viewing on a bluray player...not youtube/ipod etc

Also i would like to try to render them as progressive if possible with good results.Rendering time is not an issue.

If you have any other questions....Please ask.

London, England

I think yo may not get many replies unless you can say where you are liviing - 30fps rather implies NTSC (or 60fps) . . . . whereas in the UK (and other places, too) the standard is PAL and in UK it's 50Hz = 50fps/25fps. Can you clarify?

I understand that by filming 1920x1080 at 50i I can render this to 25p - but frankly this whole subject of fps and so on is a devilish issue as far as I can see.

If your material "doesn't tear" when viewed on - - - what? - presumably the Camcorder - this could be because the screen is either too small, or forgiving (some software fiddle), whereas once Rendered in Vegas you are seeing it as it is.