Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Only rendering the first 10 seconds of a 20 minute clip in After Effects?

  1. #1

    Question Only rendering the first 10 seconds of a 20 minute clip in After Effects?

    Is this possible?

    It would save me a lot of time whilst I am testing different things out.

  2. #2

    Default

    er...yes....

    you set the in and out points to include only the first ten secs on the timeline.

    either that or hit RAM preview...depending on complexity you might get ten secs worth... if not then bring the resolution down to half or less - that will extend the RAM preview.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Thurston Lang View Post
    er...yes....

    you set the in and out points to include only the first ten secs on the timeline.

    either that or hit RAM preview...depending on complexity you might get ten secs worth... if not then bring the resolution down to half or less - that will extend the RAM preview.
    I have set the In and Out points in the preview window but when I add it to the Render Queue and render it, it renders the full 20-minute clip :/

  4. #4

    Default

    Ah.

    don't have AE in front of me...and don't know which version you're on....but have a look in preferences and see whether you can set the default render options there.
    They may be set to render all rather than render play area.

    Failing that you may have to set the duration in the render option within render queue...

    Hard without it in front of me... but have a look

    AND - failing that...simply change the composition duration in composition settings.... it won't affect your layers and content duration which you are then able to go back to.
    Last edited by Thurston Lang; 07-02-2011 at 11:10 PM. Reason: more info

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Asheville, NC USA
    Posts
    102

    Default

    I'm not sure how complex your AE project is, but as Thurston Lang said, you may be hitting your cache limit.

    You can also "purge" your cache and this will free up more temp space for longer previews. Go to Edit => Purge => All.

    -Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Rendering a 3 Minute Video
    By stephers in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-01-2009, 07:59 PM
  2. Split a 20 minute video in half without Re-rendering it?
    By akashnegi in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2009, 07:05 PM
  3. 42 minute clip - whats going on?
    By moonmin troll in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 12:09 AM
  4. Rendering a clip out of a movie
    By ashlee24 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 09:19 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2008, 04:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •