Thread: How can we improve?

1. Default How can we improve?

I did a little 2 min film with my 8 yr old son for a competition - about 'being 50' . It was for fun, really, and we enjoyed it (it didn't take long to do) - and now I'm wondering how we can improve things, as I've posted a few youtube videos since, and obviously I know very little about this sort of stuff!

here's the link - woud be grateful if you could give (constructive ) criticism! many thanks.

YouTube - ‪crezylegscrane's Channel‬‏
    Last edited by jelliclecat; 06-13-2011 at 07:25 PM.

2. Default

also, can you show mw how to embed a video? Thanks

Firstly to embed a video just post the URL of the video (not the youtube channel) and the forum software will do the embedding,

Your video:

When filming someone talking to camera it's a good idea to have the camera at eye level unless you are going for some sort of special dramatic feel about the piece. The other big thing is the sound. As a musician, I'm sure you understand how to record good sound and the importance of it being clear and clean. Example the shot in the house you can hear the rooms influence on the recording. Get a separate mic and get it in close, when your on stage you stand near the mic and not a few feet away from it don't you. Something like a clip-on mic, like you would see on news readers on the telly or a mic on a stand just out of shot would work. The built in mics on most camcorders are not very good at recording sound like this. At best they are only good for recording ambient sounds.

Practise using the manual settings on the camera. This will help you get a better image. Although the image quality is quite good on the sample you posted.

Most importantly remember why you started making videos was to have fun, so don't forget that.

4. Default