Thread: My 1st post. Just me and my GoPro

Default My 1st post. Just me and my GoPro

Hi all, This is an experimental edit of me riding along a short cliff path but filmed with 1 camera (gopro hd) and no one manning it. Just staged each shot, rode past then edited it together to show the run. Before any one says, i know the light / time of day was bad but this is just about piecing it together to music.
    I am new to all of this so be gentle with me.

As you already know about the lighting issue I'll move on to the editing which is what you say the video is about. I thought it was a good example of how you can make a video much more interesting even though you only have one camera. It just shows if you take the time and effort do things what you can do. BUT where was the on-board shots.

I thought the panning at around 34 sec was a clever touch. I don't think your editing made me think it was all just one continues ride but a good effort.

Blog Entries

Nicely done.

You already know about the lighting issues but I feel you're missing out on the advantages of a go-pro. You can stick it anywhere, on your helmet, handlebars, pedals etc etc and a few close-ups would add a lot.

However, nice zooms and pans added in the edit and I look forward to see what happens next.

Why not go to South Cornwall for some proper scenery

i would have cutb the first few seconds (walking to bike) and wasnt keen on the colour bleed transitions.

other than that a nice little piece

whats the music btw ?

It didn't seem right just going straight in the riding footage plus the walk built upto the music.
    The music is by pretty lights. Go to their website, they give their music away ! Free downloads of all their albums.
    Artist: pretty lights
    Album: glowing in the darkest night
    Track: so much in the dark

Quote Originally Posted by LARGE View Post
    The music is by pretty lights. Go to their website, they give their music away ! Free downloads of all their albums.