Thread: Newbie Question

Default Newbie Question

I am a documentary still photographer and bought a Sony HXR MC50U camcorder in the hope of being able to add simple video records of my subjects to my work – such as interviews with my subjects for the future. As you can all imagine, I quickly found out that the technical end of processing video into a usable format is quite complex and is going to take me some time, which leaves me with a temporary problem: I need to shoot much of this video right away while working on my current project, as access won’t be easy later. The footage doesn’t need to be processed now, just recorded, and thus my question:

In still photography I always shoot at the highest resolution, knowing that I can degrade it later if needed, but always want the best image to start with. Can I do this with video files as well? Can I shoot in HD FX mode and degrade it later to standard mode. If time, file size, memory available, etc… are of no consequence, does this make sense to do it this way? It seems logical to me to shoot the best the first time around, but knowing how little I know I thought I would ask here before falling into a trap of my own making. Thanks for any help you can give me on this question – the Sony manual is only good for telling you to push the “HD FX” button if you want to record in HD FX - not why you would or what the advantages/disadvantages might be….
    Thanks again-
    Markham Starr

Blog Entries

I'll start this up front by claiming ignorance of this HD FX mode. That aside, you're methodology and thinking don't need to be adjusted for video; shoot at the highest quality, output for the required medium and audience.