Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just a few queries....

Default Just a few queries....

Ok, so I have read the thread that offers links and articles on how to get started in wedding videography. But there are still a couple of things I am unsure of and something that raises concern.

I am a film student and I have already filmed and edited wedding videos for two of my cousins on separate occasions. I would now like to take this up professionally part time to get a bit of extra money in. I am confident that I can deliver videos of professional quality providing I can find a client base.

How much to charge?
    How to bill my clients.
    And the thing that concerns me after reading one of the articles is do you really need 2 cameras? I only have one (a sony HDR-FX1E), which seems to work fine for me. And I can't imagine running around in the background between 2 different cameras would be very practical. Am I missing something?
    And basically any further advice that someone in the know can give me.

I'm sure you'll get some more advice from actual wedding videographers, but I'm a freelance in corporate and creative so I'll impart a bit of advice which I hope is of use.

How much to charge?
    As far as charge is concerned it very much depends on the service you plan to offer, there are wedding videographers out there who charge thousands and others who charge a few hundred. The ones that charge thousands add value to their services with things like, following the bride and groom from an early stage in the day i.e. showing them getting ready and so on. Also they might add value by gathering old photos, interviewing relatives (not necessarily on the day), using dolly's, jibs, cranes and lots of different cameramen to capture the day from as many conceivable angles as possible!