Thread: Interview video, how is my technique

Default Interview video, how is my technique

Hello I am an amateur video producer and painting contractor. I would like feedback to improve my videos. In this video I have asked a paint dealer to discuss a wood conditioner. I have made the video brief ...feedbacks pls.
    specs GF1 pancake and premeire cs5

Blog Entries

Not a bad effort. Several things do jump out though. Your camera stuggles to autofocus - perhaps the lack of tripod and the wobblish shots dont help. So. Get a tripod - manual focus if you can. Next - when you want to show for instance the effect on the wood, do those shots after and then cut them back in instead of hosing around with the camera. This alone will make it look alot more professional. Sound wise, the first interviewee was alot quieter than the second - I'm pretty sure you're using the on board mic on the camera. If you can afford one and your camera has a socket for one - get an external mic and place a lot closer to the subject.

Having said all that - I've seen an awful lot of attempts that are far worse than this. At least you're having a go - it's really only a few things that really need addressing in this one.

Not really much to add to what Andy has already said. May be it would have been better if the guy wasn't talking in the background when you are filming the lady.

Agree with all of Andy's suggestions - the graphics used were not really appropriate nor did they seem to fit the look and feel behind the story/brand.

Blog Entries

Firstly, and most importantly, I'm with Andy: this is not a bad effort for starters. But it could be made much better with a bit of practice and not too much effort. I won't repeat what's already been said, but will add just add one thing.