Thread: Genuine complete and utter newbie - a bit terrified of you all

Default Genuine complete and utter newbie - a bit terrified of you all

Hello all,
    My name is Gideon and I am an Air Conditioning Engineer hailing from Staffordshire.

I have only ever used a Sony Hi-8 Camcorder before along with a software package that was very buggy to produce 'days out' DVD's for the family. It added music and titles and fade aways and the like.

You can see from this that i am a complete rookie.

I play American Football but im getting a bit old to play these days (22 years on the field) and was thinking about becoming the Club Videographer. I'd eventually like to be able to Video the game (in HD?) and some interviews afterwards and make a DVD that would have a commentary option if it was wanted and maybee add some graphics to make it look a little like you would see on the TV.

I have a Dell VOSTRO 1720 laptop which is less than a year old and i have no video camera.

I have gamefilm of older matches and so im probably best having a play around with creating the DVD's first and hopefully get some good results, so that by next season ( April 2012 ) i could buy a decent Video Camera that would allow me to do the whole thing?
    Any money made from the sale of the DVD's to players and their family etc would go on the youth development programme. an enthusiastic rookie, can anyone give me an idea as to what software i should spend my hard earned cash on?

and, for the furure, what Video camera would be good to look at for capturing fast moving sports ?

Thankyou in advance, and please be kind

Just dropped by to say "Hi", and welcome to the site.
    I too am new here, only a member for a few days, but noticed that you are from Staffs.

I was originally from North Staffs, now in Telford, Shropshire.

All the best,