Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Best FCP HD Output for edit on PC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default Best FCP HD Output for edit on PC

    Hi quick question...

    Is there a setting in FCP or Quicktime exporter to make hd footage exported from the FCP timeline compatible with editing on a pc, this would be for edited output from FCP that needs to be shared with others that edit on PC and need to add it into a larger project. High quality output not final output formats through compressor (h264,mp4,wmv,etc) which all work fine in Windows.

    Cheers

    Mike
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    Ok, found the answer...

    Try Output to Pro Res 422 via the File/share menu (instead of export) in FCP and the resulting .mov file now opens in windows and appears to be editable. I guess quicktime or ProRes decoder for Windows is also required on the windows box.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

Similar Threads

  1. dv output
    By bazman in forum Just for fun
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 08:59 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-23-2009, 03:24 PM
  3. Using Vgeas to edit MPEG2 & hard disc camcoder output
    By stephen1 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-15-2009, 11:45 PM
  4. Vegas output problem - cursors position stays in the output file.
    By viljo in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 04:17 PM
  5. output to cd-r
    By jdando in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2005, 04:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •