Thread: Total newbie - first attempt

1. Default Total newbie - first attempt

My friend lent me a Canon XM2 and I trotted off to shoot a trike being collected at a local engineering firm who make equipment for kids with physical disabilities. The firm bought it off me and have asked me to do some more bits and bobs so I'd really appreciate assistance to improve (I've already bought a wired mic) Cheers!

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Overall I'm very impressed - incredibly impressed if this is a first attempt.

Perfect length. You've got the right idea: edit the audio so it flows nicely, then match the video to it.
    You're aware that there's really too much background noise and presume you bought the mic after recording this. That should make a great difference.

Possible areas for improvement (not that it reallly needs it):
    I'd have liked to have seen the interview from more angles or perhaps just cutting in closer and closer as the interview progresses (I appreciate though that this might interrupt the "flow" of speaker which is more important).
    There was one jump cut which you attempted to cover with a dissolve - this never looks good - a cutaway would have been preferable.

Similarly it migt have been nice to have had a few close up shots of Mia - we never really get that lose to her face - and close ups of trike parts (feet on pedals, hands on handlebars, wheels) etc add variety and are useful as cutaways.

You could also have maybe have had an opening establishing wide shot and/or a closing shot showing Dan watching Mum pushing Mia: all in frame.

But these are pretty minor.

Getting even pickier, when you're shooting an interview, try to make the background interesting or relevant but not a distraction. It wasn't here but the buildings behind Dad and the blown out white sky did not really look that great.

The only other thing I'd suggest is you shoot in 16:9 unless you've specifically been asked for 4x3 and 4x3 looks distinctly "old hat" nowadays.