Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Problems placing items in Vegas Studio HD 10

Default Problems placing items in Vegas Studio HD 10

I'm quite new to vegas, but I'm working on a clip and I'm experimenting big frustrations when I have to understand how to place titles (but pics as well) in my video.

In a few words, I'm working with several tracks, and I'm adding titles and pics in variuos of them.
    First thing I can't understand is that they seem to have a "frame" around them, usually smaller then the clip dimensions (1920x1080): the result is that part of the title is out of view or, if I see it correctly, it is in the wrong place in the screen. But if I try to move it, it goes out of the subframe again.

I have played with text position and pan/crop tool, but I can't work out how they work.

How can I place a title (or a pic) as big as I want and where I want? What's the philosophy behind this behaviour in Vegas?

Thank you very much to whoever will help!

Blog Entries

Hi Akd. I'm having a bit of a problem understanding your description "They seem to have a small frame around them" for example - what do you mean by "they" and what window are you looking at.

I agree this can be confusing - I certainly struggled when first learning Vegas and still often get my knickers in a twist, scrapo and start again when doing some of this stuff.

Anyway, broadly speaking:

Use the pan and crop tool: When you open it you see a frame with a large "F" in the middle. You can resize the frame. Lets assume for now you leave the "Lock aspect ratio" and "size around centre" set on (default). Also ensure that under "source" Maintain Aspect Ratio" and "stretch to rame are also set to yes"
    Now, make the frame smaller. Observe the preview window. You have now zoomed in, such that the area within the frame in the P&C window fills your output screen.
    Move the "frame" around, so you are now zooming in on different parts of the image.

OK So far? Good