Thread: Wavy Lines

Default Wavy Lines

I'm fairly new to all this, so bear with me if I sound a bit silly.

1. I take a DVDR made for me with copies of old Cinefilms from the 1970s
    2. I place it in my PC DVD drive and rip it with DVD Decrypter
    3. I take one of the resultant vob files, edit it with VideoReDo, save it as a MPG file
    4. I author a new DVD with VideoReDo, using this MPG file, enforcing DVD Compliance
    5. I burn to DVD using Nero Express

(a) I watch the DVD on the PC and it's fine
    (b) I watch the DVD on my Plasma TV and I see wavy lines every time it pans.

It's driving me mad, I've searched and searched for answers and can't find them. I've asked a few people and they say "oh it's an interlacing issue". But I am not experienced enough in the subject to understand anything I have read on the internet about interlacing, nor have I found anything written on the subject that addresses my issue. Most seem to address the issue where it plays bad on the PC and good on the TV.

I would really, really appreciate help with this as it's important I complete this project. By the way the above example is simplified to assist in diagnosing the issue, obviously I intend doing more edits etc, but if the basics aren't working then there's no point.

I look forward to hearing any suggestions anyone may wish to make.

San Diego, Ca, USA

What are your render settings?
    Can you get a screen shot?

Quote Originally Posted by Solo619 View Post
    What are your render settings?
    Can you get a screen shot?
    Pardon my ignorance here, render settings in which application, at which stage? Which settings? Sorry, I'm a novice so I'm not sure what you're looking for

Anyone else have any idea on this? I'm really stumped with this :-(

Like your friends; I would also suspect it is an 'interlacing' issue. You may want to search on words like "interlaced" and "progressive". It is worth understanding the difference.