Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Sony Vegas Pro 10 (x64) - Black spots in video!

  1. #1

    Question Sony Vegas Pro 10 (x64) - Black spots in video!


    I recently got myself Sony Vegas Pro 10, 64 bit. But my anticipations quickly turned to frustration as I now have a very annoying problem. I'm hoping you guys can help me out!

    I render large moves, both in size and length (usually around 20 minutes, and the size is about 1 GB). I record game footage in Fraps. In Sony Vegas I piece together four or five clips to form a 20 minute video. In my earlier version of Sony Vegas I have had no problems with rendering so the following came as quite the surprise for me.

    The problem:
    Sometimes Sony Vegas will just render part of the video as a black screen instead of the actual video. The audio can still be heard. Then, after about a minute or so (sometimes longer, sometimes shorter, in fact, some times it's just a few seconds) the video returns. I believe the black screen happens when it starts rendering a new clip in the video.

    This doesn't happen all the time. One out of three movies perhaps. it's like the program just shrugs, decided not to render the video for a minute or two, then reconsiders and starts recording video again. It's really weird.

    Things that might interest you:
    I use Sharpen effect on all my movies.
    I have disabled resampling on all my clips.
    All clips are raw footage from fraps. Aprox. 4 GB in size each.
    All clips are avi files.
    None of the clips I am rendering are missing.
    The clips play fine in the preview window.
    This is the firs time I save as Windows Media Video version 11 (wmv).

    What I have tried and have not worked:
    I have closed down programs that could access the RAW files
    I have activated resample
    I have rendered in 720p instead of 1080p

    These are the settings I use:
    Project Properties

    Clip Properties

    Render Properties

    My computer:
    CPU type: DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, 3000 MHz (9 x 333)
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS4 (2 PCI, 3 PCI-E x1, 2 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
    System Memory: 4096 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (1024 MB)

    If you need any more information, just holler and I'll try and get it! Thanks!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    San Diego, Ca, USA


    Why is it that you chose Windows Media Video? Have you try'd any other codec?

  3. #3


    Why? It's.. well, it's the only thing that I ever used actually. I was comfortable with it and knew the settings.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    San Diego, Ca, USA


    If your render for youtube try:

    Save as type: Sony AVC
    Template: Internet 1920x 1080-30p

    (extra) Custom Settings:VIDEO/ Increasing ["Bit rate (bps):] will give you a better image because it gives you more information per second.

    It gives you a really good hd video for youtube in a .mp4

Similar Threads

  1. Sony Vegas Black Bars After Render?
    By apwhitelaw in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 06:26 PM
  2. Sony Vegas Black Screen
    By laurie_hammy in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 09:21 AM
  3. Image is smaller and has black frames - sony vegas
    By slahser in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-19-2007, 05:25 PM
  4. Sony Vegas black frames problem
    By slahser in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 01:47 PM
  5. Weird black dust spots inside DCR-TRV340E lens
    By az0000000 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2007, 10:23 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts