Thread: FX: Photoshopping Each Frame?

Lightbulb FX: Photoshopping Each Frame?

Sometimes I pull a print screen, to freeze an object such like this (0:04):

But it had me thinking, is there a way to decompile a MTS or M2TS file so you can work with each frame independantly in photoshop? The ability to isolate objects and make selections are powerful tools and could probably create some awesome FX once you create a template for each shot or scene, maybe this is what after affects does? I have never used AAE before.
    Why am I an editor? ...because I'm a bad filmer!
    ☮ ♫ ☾ ☆ ☼ ☯ ~ Live Long & Prosper

In Vegas you can render as an image sequence. Which means it will produce, in your case 30 separate image file for every second of footage. You can then manipulate them in Photoshop etc. Then you can bring them back into Vegas and render them as a video. BUT that would be 1800 images files for one minute of video. OR 1500 images in the UK.

Hmm, maybe I should try After Affects. Does Vegas render completely uncompressed images?

The thing that scares me with After Affects is you can not make cuts with it and such so your path becomes a double render, I am yet to achieve this even in Vegas properly. Lets say I need to compress something so much I need to render it twice (super time lapse) at least this goes for MTS and M2TS, your KBPS goes down. My MTS files are upwards of 17,000kbps but the highest option under Sony AVC M2TS is 16,000kbps and even if you choose 16k, it never renders 16 it's usualy between 14,000-15,000. So how well does AAF handle those file types?

It used to be that you needed to export as an image sequence to take video into photoshop. More recent versions can open up video files, I use after effects for this stuff so I can't really remember since when. And again I'm not sure what formats it can or can't open, but I'm sure you could find out easilly enough.