Thread: PROM Video

Red face PROM Video

Hey all, so I created a video for a group of friends for their senior prom and I was hoping to get some feedback. I just started making these event types of videos and I noticed that it was very difficult getting the shots to be smooth. I was using a DSLR and almost all of the shots were done hand held.

Here's the link:

Surrey, England

Hi there, I think the video had a fun, upbeat feel to it and I am sure that your friends will treasure it. If you are looking to improve it though, these would be my suggestions. Please bear I mind they are just opinions, and I am not a professional, so I would suggest that you read my comments, think about them and then make your own mind up

Firstly, the Ever Green Valley cut was a fraction to fleeting. I had to pause the video, rewind and re-watch in order to read the name. I am guessing the name is important in this video, so maybe hold it for a second longer? This might work throughout the video actually, as there are many quick cuts, and the viewer can barely register what they are seeing before it is gone on a few occasions.

There were a couple of black cuts. Not sure the first one worked or added anything in my opinion, although the second one at 1:48 where it coincides with the slight pause in the music was OK. The first one looked like a frame was missing.