Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: transitions not working

Default transitions not working

Hi there

im new to video editing, i filmed some stuff on my canon 550D and then transfered everything that i filmed sto my lap top and then to pinnacle studio 14 ulitimate HD.

my first question is, must i change any settings or formats to the video that i imported before i edit?

second question, i started editing the video, when i added transitions and played it back to see what the transition looked like in the film, the transition didnt work and instead it showed an exclamation mark before it cut to the next scene.

please can somebody help me out here.

any advice on video editing would also be appreciated.

I don't use Pinnacle studio so I can't be too specific, but your questions are quite general so I should be able to help. Your Project settings need to match your footage, I'm guessing your shooting either 1280x720 or 1920x1080 and the Codec is H.264, so your project settings need to match, I'm not sure if it's like final cut pro where it will change the settings automatically to match your footage but if not then you'll have to do it yourself depending on the resolution your shooting in. Also I don't know if Pinnacle handles the H.264 codec too well as I know some video editors like Final Cut and Avid don't respond too well to it so you may have to convert it to something else using a conversion software. I'm guessing your transitions aren't showing up because it needs rendering, have a quick look through your manual or google it and it will tell you how to render your footage. Hope this helps.
    Last edited by martchap; 03-31-2011 at 01:26 PM.

hey man, thanks for the reply !!

im still having trouble trying to render the footage. ive googled it and watched tutorials on youtube, but i still cant seem to find where to go to render the footage !!