Thread: I'm Brand New - Just Out of the Packaging - Please Help

Default I'm Brand New - Just Out of the Packaging - Please Help

Hello All!

Very new to the forum. Been looking for a beginners guide (both in this forum and with general video editing) but haven't been able to find any. I'd appreciate it any links or intro documents for newbies.

I have no editing experience what so ever, and have considered paying money to go on night courses to develop the basic skills. When I have paid for these before though I don't actually end up learning much. I learn most when playing around myself and learning from forums/online sources. Any starting points you could give would be great.

I have a new version of CamStudio and about a 4/5-year old copy of Cyberlink PowerDirector (however my PC is about this old as well, if this will hold me back please let me know and I will start to save).
    I want to get my editing down before I start with video capture. If anyone can show me where the literature is so I can start to develop the basics Iíd really appreciate it. If you honestly feel that video editing warrants a fee paying course then if you can please advise a good one to start. Iíve just graduated University with over £25,000ís worth of student debt however, so feeís are quite a concern for me at present.

Kindest of Regards,

JohnZe