Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Quality of footage diffrence

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    nh
    Posts
    8

    Default Quality of footage diffrence

    My friend i decided that the new skate video i was editing, was going to be split up so we can both edit diffrent things. When we loaded the same footage on to our computers, the footage was alot clearer on his computer than mine. He has some dell and the monitor is from like 98. I just got an emac for christmas so i could use final cut. Ive been trying to figure out why the playback of the footage is so much clearer on his than mine. I was thinking maybe it was the graphics card, or when we capture maybe its somehow capturing on the worst quality or somehting. Has anyone else noticed this. if so, can you give me any advice?
    many pardons to ye

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Using firewire?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    it's not a hardware problem.

    i assume they were both captured via firewire. It could be something as simple as a codec thing. Perhaps the emac's not showing the video at full quality. have you tried exporting a movie, and checking the end result's quality?

    is this another bloody interlacing thing?
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    nh
    Posts
    8

    Default

    i havnt exported it yet its only been on my external. But even if i play like a dvd on my mac the quality still isnt as good if we play a dvd on his computer......... any ideas?
    many pardons to ye

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    in what way isn't the quality as good? I think macs are sucky, but they should play dvds as well as anything else.
    AMD Athlon 1700 (@2200mhz from 1466 sod the noise!) - 768mb pc3200 - 200GB Maxtor - Pioneer 106 - GF4 Ti4200 - twinhan/visionplus pci dvb-t - random pci analogue tv tuner - A7v600-x (to replace the a7n8x-d that died...) - random 17\" CRT
    Sony STR-DE425 & Eltax c205s;
    xBox w/20GB HDD- executer 2.3b;
    xBox - standard;
    Konica/Minolta dimage z10 w/2x512mb SD;
    iRiver h340;
    A silly amount of Cat-5 and usb cables

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 38
    Last Post: 11-15-2012, 04:03 PM
  2. footage
    By cunnie65 in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 03:57 PM
  3. Gettin the best quality possible, like dvd quality
    By videoboy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2005, 03:38 PM
  4. Any XM2 footage
    By superkopite in forum User Videos
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2005, 07:53 PM
  5. Light and quality capturing quality
    By MrChad in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2005, 09:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •