Thread: Some buget minded choices for a first-timer

1. Default Some buget minded choices for a first-timer

So, after reading some suggestions in the last thread I made some choices.

After flirting with the idea of low-end documentary film-making (I shot a few things on Canon point and shoots that I was happy with but they, of course, didn't look professional) and with the people I made the low-end stuff for happy with the product I thought I could step up my game a bit. I purchased the Canon T2i mainly because of the high quality videos I'd seen online, ease of use (as I am still new to DSLR) and the fact that it could attach an external mic. My sister will be getting married at the end of the summer and asked me to shoot her wedding. I thought this would be the perfect chance to make something that looks better then my previous work...

...however, the that I don't have the $$$ to step-up my game as of yet to the level of professionalism I have seen on some videographers sites...I have about $500. So, the trick here is what can a first time user add to his T2i / 18-55mm kit lense and 55-250mm lense / 2 Batteries / 2 16gig memory cards / 1 laptop to transfer files on to shoot his sisters wedding for $500?

So, that said, I have been researching and putting together a basic kit that I wanted to get some comments on.