Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice appreciated on shooting a short film in the British humour genre of comedy

Default Advice appreciated on shooting a short film in the British humour genre of comedy

Hi all, hope I've posted this in the right section.
    Ok, here goes.
    I've written the storyline and the shooting script for a short film in the British humour genre of comedy. Although I'm confident about the storyline and shooting script I'm not so confident about lighting, sound, camera angles etc. In other words, I'm not so confident about just about everything technical. I'm a writer, not a film maker, although I'm hopefully getting there.
    My main questions are, could I have arranged the camera angle and lighting better? I think I'm ok about the sound, although if you have any suggestions they would be appreciated.
    It might help if I explain the camera, lighting and sound rig that I used for the scene.
    The camera was a Sony PD170, lighting was a Strand 650\800 watt light rigged at 45 degrees distance and 45 degrees height from the woman. The sound was a Sennheiser shotgun mic held about 3 feet from the woman's face and pointing 45 degrees at her face.
    Although this shot is probably pretty prosaic, and although the next couple of shots are, the following scenes are more bizarre.
    Last edited by snapper1; 02-20-2011 at 12:10 PM.

2. Default

I'm a video noob, but...

Did you record with stereo sound? The balance is off to the left.
    I can hear mp3 artefacts in the right ear, and there's music in the background coming from one of the neighbours.

Is it supposed to be orangy-pink? Or did you just not 'white balance' it?
    I don't like the shadow on the wall that much, but it might be unavoidable?

Hi thanks for the advice, just what I wanted.
    I didn't white balance it, will investigate that and balance.

Blog Entries